لماذا مارالين؟

USA Flag

لماذا أركض لأكون قاضيًا في

محكمة مقاطعة ليهاي للمناشدات المشتركة؟

"لقد جئت من عائلة من الطبقة العاملة (مزارعون ، عمال مصانع الصلب ، خدم المنازل ، عمال نقابات ، إلخ.). لم يكن هناك محامون أو قضاة في عائلتي. لم تكن لدي خبرة في النظام القضائي تتجاوز ما رأيته في التلفزيون وفي الأفلام. لقد طورت اهتمامي بالقانون لأول مرة عندما بدأت المشاركة في مسابقات المحاكمة الصورية في المدرسة الثانوية. وقد انبهرت بالعملية برمتها: التحقيق ، وبناء القضية أو الدفاع ، وتقديم الأدلة. وقد انجذبت إلى كل الطرق التي يكون فيها القانون ولا يشبه أي شيء رأيته في التلفزيون وفي الأفلام. لقد كنت مدمنًا. من خلال الكلية وكلية الحقوق ، واصلت تطوير فهم عميق واحترام لهذا النظام. لقد درست التلاعب العنصري . لقد تدربت في واشنطن العاصمة. طوال حياتي وحياتي المهنية ، قمت بصقل العديد من المهارات الحاسمة لكوني قاضيًا فعالاً ".

IMG_1241.JPG

مهارات التفكير الناقد

لا يوجد شخص لديه معرفة موسوعية بالقوانين التي تتغير باستمرار. القدرة على فهم وتطبيق القانون (قوانين ، مراسيم ، سابقة) أمر بالغ الأهمية. الحقيقة هي أن معظم القضايا ، بل الغالبية العظمى من القضايا ، لا تصل إلى قاعة المحكمة. فقط النزاعات الأكثر صعوبة ، والأكثر إثارة للجدل ، هي التي تصل إلى قاعة المحكمة. بحكم تدريبي وممارستي ، أنا مستعدة للتعامل مع القضايا الخلافية الصعبة.

طبع

النظام القضائي بطبيعته عدائي. عندما يصل الأشخاص إلى قاعة المحكمة ، يكون ذلك بسبب حدوث خطأ ما وعدم تمكن الأطراف من حل خلافاتهم. يختلف الطرفان بشكل أساسي ، وبشدة في كثير من الأحيان. في ممارستي ، سعيت دائمًا إلى تعزيز قضايا موكلي دون أن أكون بغيضة أو عدم احترام للطرف الخصم أو محاميهم. في حياتي وممارستي ، أتعامل مع جميع القادمين بمستوى أساسي من اللطف واللياقة والاحترام. إذا أتيحت لي الفرصة ، أنوي الاستمرار في هذا السياق والحكم على القضايا دون إصدار حكم على المشاركين.

عدم التحيز

كل شخص لديه تحيز أو تفضيل. إنها سمة بشرية طبيعية تقوم على حياة التجارب. ومع ذلك ، عندما تدخل قاعة المحكمة ، لا يوجد مكان للتحيز على الإطلاق. إن مهمة القاضي هي التأكد من أن تحيزاته الشخصية لا تدخل في أي قرار تتخذه المحكمة. إنه عمل متعمد ، ليس فقط أن يدرك التحيزات التي يمتلكها المرء ، ولكن أن ينحي ذلك جانبًا ويطبق القانون دون تحيز. التصرف بناء على القوانين المكتوبة والحقائق كما هي معروضة ، وليس على أساس التحيز ، يتطلب عملاً مستمراً. هذا هو العمل الذي التزمت به طوال حياتي وأعتزم الاستمرار على مقاعد البدلاء إذا سنحت لي الفرصة.

الاتصالات

التواصل هو حجر الزاوية في هذه المهنة. لا يتحدث التواصل فقط عن القدرة على الفهم ، ولكن القدرة على سماع وفهم الآخرين. التواصل القوي له علاقة بمقابلة الأشخاص أينما كانوا. بغض النظر عن خلفية الفرد (على سبيل المثال ، الانتماء التعليمي والاجتماعي والاقتصادي والسياسي واللغة الأولى / الأساسية وما إلى ذلك) ، فإن محاكمنا مفتوحة. كان اهتمامي بمقابلة الأشخاص أينما كانوا عاملاً محفزًا في رحلتي للتحدث باللغة الإسبانية.

Why Maraleen?

USA Flag

Why I am running to be Judge in the

Lehigh County Court of Common Pleas?

"I come from a working class family (farmers, steel mill workers, domestics, union workers, etc.). There were no lawyers or judges in my family. I had no experience with the judicial system beyond what I saw on television and in movies. I first developed an interest in the law when I began participating in high school mock trial competitions. I was fascinated by the entire process: the investigation, the building of a case or defense, and the presentation of evidence. I was drawn to all the ways in which the law is and is not like anything I saw on television and in movies. I was hooked. Through college and law school, I continued to develop a deep understanding and respect for this system. I’ve studied racial gerrymandering. I’ve interned in Washington, DC. Throughout my life and career, I have honed several skills critical to being an effective judge."

IMG_1241.JPG

Critical Thinking Skills

No person has an encyclopedic knowledge of laws, which are constantly changing. The ability to understand and apply the law (statutes, ordinances, precedent) is paramount. The reality is that most cases, indeed the vast majority of cases, do not make it to a courtroom. Only the most difficult, the most contentious, disputes make it to the courtroom. By virtue of my training and practice, I am prepared to handle the difficult, contentious cases.

Temperament

The judicial system is, by its very nature, adversarial. When people arrive in the courtroom, it is because something has gone wrong and the parties have not been able to resolve their differences. The parties fundamentally, and often vehemently, disagree. In my practice, I have always endeavored to advance my clients’ causes without being disagreeable or disrespectful of the opposing party or their counsel. In my life and practice, I treat all comers with a baseline level of kindness, decency, and respect. If given the opportunity, I intend to continue in this vein and judge cases without being judgmental of the participants.

Lack of Bias

Each and every person has bias, or preference. It is a natural human trait based on a life of experiences. However, when you enter a courtroom, there's absolutely no place for bias. It is a judge’s job to ensure that her or his personal biases do not make it into any decision made by the court. It is an intentional act to, not only be conscious of the biases one has, but to set that aside and apply the law without bias. Acting based on the laws as written and facts as presented, and not based on bias, requires constant work. This is work to which I have been committed throughout my life and intend to continue on the bench if I have the opportunity. 

Communication

Communication is a cornerstone of this profession. Communication not only speaks to the ability to be understood, but the ability to hear and understand others. Strong communication has everything to do with meeting people where they are. No matter an individual’s background (e.g., educational, socioeconomic, political affiliation, first/primary language, etc.) our courts are open. My interest in meeting people where they are was a motivating factor in my own journey to speak Spanish.